No votes yet.
Please wait...

The debut album ‘Beautiful World’ from the Scandinavian production duo anamē is now available on Anjunabeats.

The collaborative effort of Marcus Schössow and Thomas Sagstad reaches its culmination with ‘Beautiful World,’ a project they have envisioned since their initial encounter at a house party in Helsingborg, Sweden, more than two decades ago. Following their individual work with renowned artists such as Swedish House Mafia, Axwell /\ Ingrosso, and Kaskade over the past decade, the duo’s debut album marks the latest milestone in their extensive careers.

Much like their professional journeys, the album boasts a roster of impressive collaborators. The title track ‘Beautiful World’ features the vocals of Steve Smith, widely recognized as a member of the GRAMMY-winning act Dirty Vegas. Sagstad expresses his admiration for Smith, stating, “I love Steve. I had the opportunity to work with him four years ago on a record with Sultan + Shepard, and that was like a dream come true for me. It’s called Beautiful World, it’s the title track, and I think he encapsulates all of it.”

Another notable addition to the album is ‘Hurt You,’ a track with origins dating back several years, featuring the vocals of fellow Swede Lya Adams, and a collaboration with AN21, a prominent artist on SIZE records and the brother of Steve Angello. ‘Closer’ sees the duo team up with the Dutch indie band Vaarwell, operating under their new alias Shobi, a group that Sagstad has long admired.

The importance of meaningful lyrics resonates throughout the album. “What is important for all the vocal songs we do is that the lyrics actually mean something to us,” Schössow emphasizes. “We’ve received plenty of outstanding demos from other songwriters, but the lyrics didn’t really connect with us.”

This philosophy is evident in tracks like ‘Gravity,’ which Sagstad considers a cornerstone of the album. “I love the lyrics of the hook. It delves into the concept of gravity and its deeper meaning, keeping ourselves grounded and focusing on the right path… For us, that’s the most crucial aspect. We don’t aim for the most commercial vocals; we seek out vocals that resonate with us on a personal level.”

Schössow and Sagstad have poured their ambition, passion, and sense of exploration into the essence of ‘Beautiful World.’ Through its thirteen tracks, anamē not only presents their musical perspective but also shares their worldview, both literally and metaphorically.

anamē`s debut album “Beautiful World will be out on September 01st 2023!
Order your copy here:

Tracklist “Beautiful World”:

  1. anamē – Anywhere (Road Trippin’)
  2. anamē & Lydmor – Someone We Used To Love
  3. anamē & Bien – Must Be Dreaming
  4. anamē – Bermondsey Bender
  5. anamē & shobi – Closer
  6. anamē – Gravity
  7. anamē – Patched
  8. anamē, AN21 & Lya Adams – Hurt You
  9. anamē & Steve Smith – Beautiful World
  10. anamē – Fiji
  11. anamē – Escape
  12. anamē & Lydmor – Couples Therapy (Interlude)
  13. anamē & Lydmor – Peaceful Avenues