FERR by Ferry Corsten – As Above So Below

FERR by Ferry Corsten - As Above So Below
Rating: 5.0/5. From 2 votes.
Please wait...

FERR, the alias from electronic music producer Ferry Corsten, is the showcase of a body of intimate compositions by an artist who for over 25 years has perhaps been more associated with the higher BPM ranges of the music world. Encapsulated in a new album titled “As Above So Below”, FERR by Ferry Corsten is a new canvas by which he’ll paint melodic experimental arrangements alongside deep and expansive cinematic themes, in what can perhaps be regarded as his most ambitious, avant-garde music to date.
Announced via an open letter to his fans and music fans at large, Ferry explained what led him to craft an album of this type and also what his inspirations were behind its creation. Amidst his hectic touring schedule, the FERR project and this debut studio album ‘As Above So Below’ is a catalog of work that reflects a deeper side to Ferry, as a producer, a DJ, a husband, and a father, it shows the person and how he manages to balance his own life and find his personal still point in the world.
“As Above So Below” allows Ferry the space in which to express his creativity in full flow, unbound by limitations and to fully expand on musical ideas without an end goal in mind. Explorations in sample manipulation, field recording, and subtle distortions are abundant throughout the album, as Ferry explores new ways to bring his latest vision to life, utilizing reverbs, delays, room noise, and tape flutters to build up textures that are coaxed into the field of sound over time.
Speaking further on the album and his change in approach on “As Above So Below”, Ferry commented, “I normally produce with a certain structure in mind, which is mostly designed for the dancefloor amongst other things. For this album, however, I went in with a completely blank piece of paper, shut off the autopilot and just went with the flow. No rules, no overthinking. Just let it come naturally. That was one of the biggest changes to how I approached the whole process of making this album.”
As an artist who continues to challenge what it means to be an artist in dance music today, this transparent relationship and sharing his most inward and creative thoughts with his fans, Ferry Corsten has exhibited yet another multi-faceted side to his spectrum of interests and talents, ‘As Above So Below’. Often in a world of chaos, we all need our own little piece of calm, and perhaps none more so than in these current times. Through ‘As Above So Below’, Ferry Corsten seeks to express his own interpretation of tranquillity and enables others to find their peaceful moment of reflection that allows the listener to find their equilibrium.
Ferry Corsten’s ambient album “As Above So Below” is out on March 27th 2020!
Get your copy here:
Tracklist “As Above So Below”:
01. FERR by Ferry Corsten – Caim
02. FERR by Ferry Corsten – Croi
03. FERR by Ferry Corsten – Sehnsucht
04. FERR by Ferry Corsten – Closer
05. FERR by Ferry Corsten – When Thoughts Become You
06. FERR by Ferry Corsten & Geronimo Snijtsheuvel – Dark Water
07. FERR by Ferry Corsten – Arcane Soul
08. FERR by Ferry Corsten – Encounter
09. FERR by Ferry Corsten – Dulcinea
10. FERR by Ferry Corsten – Beyond the North Wind
11. FERR by Ferry Corsten & Geronimo Snijtsheuvel – Gravity Waves
12. FERR by Ferry Corsten – Sweven
13. FERR by Ferry Corsten – Void
14. FERR by Ferry Corsten – Away

Bookmark the permalink.