No votes yet.
Please wait...

Regular as clockwork, from 2007 to 2010, Mr. Sam’s “Opus” compilations swiftly became part of electronic music’s fabric. When it came to musical trends, they established his reputation as that of a setter rather than a follower, tracking perhaps five or more years ahead of their time.

In the second decade of the new millennium, Mr. Sam’s largely set DJing to one side, focusing instead on other passions, music production and graphic design amongst them. The four releases (or “Opus”, “Secundo”, “Tertio”, and “Quarto” as they were known) seemed destined to remain rampant for those prepared to look beyond the musical horizon of the time.
That is all until… well, you guessed it… Ten plus years after ‘Quarto’, Mr. Sam returns this June with his fifth “Opus” (Quinto, naturally). Along with it comes another two hundred and forty minutes of mind-expanding music, sounds, and experiences that again promise to resonate deeper and live longer.

So eclectic is its selection, that Sam’s series arguably owes no musical debt at all. If indeed it does though, likely it’s sole to Sasha & Digweed’s “Northern Exposure”’ series. Mixing music whose focus is on atmosphere-generating sounds & effects is very much the opening forte of “Opus 5”. Tracks like Alan Dixon’s “Rudy’s Spector”, “Ghost In Me” from Darla Jade & Nico de Andrea, and Wolf Story’s “Life Before” all have their emphasis on mood, rather than movement. Indeed, it’s almost fifteen minutes before Disc 01 develops anything more than a percussive pulse. When it does, the mix begins to reach down progressively lit avenues. Included in that are the voodoo feels of Migosy’s “Mbamba”, Totoray’s technotic “Everlasting” and the acidic-tipped “Clavel” from Issac.

On his return to the “Opus” series, Sam himself commented that it had been: “The result of a good few months of hard work. I wanted to make the album of my dreams, without any artistic constraints. I am lucky that my label Black Hole Recordings gave me 100% carte blanche to do so, and supported me right to the end in order to realize it. I didn’t want to make any musical concessions, which is a lux these days… So, I indulged myself and made the album I wanted to make.

Musically, it goes from ambient to breakbeat to house, and further into progressive and trance. I feel this is by far my best mix album to date and I’m exceedingly proud of it. One particular I’d also like to point out is that 100% of the tracks on the limited edition double 12″ release have never been released on vinyl before. Included in that you will find, exclusively, the legendary SASHA together with Franky Wah, which I am particularly delighted about!”
Mr. Sam’s fifth edition of his “Opus” compilation series is out on June 03rd, 2022!
Order your copy of “Mr. Sam – Opus Quinto” here:
Tracklist “Mr. Sam – Opus Quinto”:
Disc 01
1. Alan Dixon – Rudy’s Spector
2. Darla Jade & Nico de Andrea – Ghost In Me (Lemon & Herb Remix)
3. Nihil Young, Talal & Amy Wawn – Don’t Give Up (Extended Mix)
4. Wolf Story featuring Essa – Life Before You
5. Migosy – Mbamba
6. Totoray – Everlasting Movement
7. Issac – Clavel
8. B.I.G. – A Promise
9. Marsh – 1992
10. 2088 – Connection
11. Framewerk – Metropolis
12. Swoose – Lotus 13.
13. Sasha vs. Franky Wah – Haunted
14. Borneo – Trying
15. Baril – One More Rush
16. LEV – Beacons Were Lit

Disc 02
1. Peer Kusiv featuring Johanson – Bring You Back
2. Romulus – The Hut
3. Rosewall & Shyam P – Destiny (Reiym Remix)
4. Luttrell – Twin Souls
5. ONYVA – Flow Wave
6. Balad & Allies For Everyone featuring Eleonora – What Remains
7. The Dualz – Inside Me
8. Howling – Need You Now (Adriatique Remix)
9. Mr Sam featuring Kirsty Hawkshaw – Split (Arpow Remix)
10. Arpow – Flow
11. Morttagua & Melody Stranger – Remnants
12. Aalson – Stormia
13. Kiz Pattison & Micah Paul Lukasewich – Beam Of Light
14. B.B.E. – Seven Days and One Week (Mr Sam’s Casino Royale Remix)
15. Peer Kusiv featuring AVEC – On My Mind (ANII Remix)