Pure Progressive 1 mixed by Orkidea

Pure Progressive 1 mixed by Orkidea
Rating: 5.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait...

It took a shade under thirty months for Pure Progressive to rock past its one-hundredth release. That was time enough for the label to bring music from near enough every prog operator of note through its doors and onto floors. Penner, Barone, O’Glue, Saint-Jules, Schossow, Driftmoon, label honch Solarstone (naturally) – you name ‘em, they’ve all received their P.P. pin.
If there was any surprise to be had it was that Pure Progressive’s resisted a full-blown compilation until now. Time is time though and July 2020 sees Solarstone’s progressive progeny emphatically score that notch. At the wheelhouse of its mix/disc-deuce is none other than that flying Fin, Orkidea – a genre prognosticator himself who’s recorded for the label many a time. Notably perhaps it was “One Man”’s Dream’ – their hundredth release, as well as his longstanding Solar-association – that saw him earmarked to mix-helm “Pure Progressive 1”. Either way he’s seized both opportunity and reins to deliver a stupendously mixed first edition – and one that brings the best of his and the label’s artistic cohort to your ears.
Amongst them – well an embarrassment of progressive riches abounds. Genre forefathers like Way Out West rub shoulders with scene-starters like Oakenfold, whilst a host of respected outfits from its dawn – Deepsky, Sunscreem, Desert, Slusnik Luna, Pink Bomb and others – see their works remix-reimagined.
Orkidea’s split his edition clean down the middle, dividing it into “Artist” and “DJ” mixes. The former of which offers a major spyglass into what his album follow-up to 2015’s “Harmonia” beholds. In-mixed-form it features no less than 12 tracks, including premieres for new cuts like “Rebel Time” and his Sunscreem team-up “Perfect Motion”, as well as the just-out-there “That Feeling”. The latter meanwhile comes flush with many an edge-cutter from 2020’s progressive class. Yotto, Grum, Paul Thomas, gardenstate, Forerunners, Allende and a horde of others pack out the second disc’s tracklist. Collectively “Pure Progressive 1” serves the clearest possible vision of what’s-currently-what in the world of progressive.
Pure Progressive 1 mixed by Orkidea will be out on July 17th 2020 via Black Hole Recordings!
Get your copy here:
Tracklist “Pure Progressive 1”:
Mix 1 – The Artist
01. Way Out West – Earth (Orkidea Pure Progressive Remix)
02. Orkidea – Rebel Time
03. Solarstone & Orkidea – Slowmotion V
04. Orkidea – Forward Forever
05. Orkidea & Sunscreem – Perfect Motion (Extended Mix)
06. Orkidea – Metta
07. Deepsky – Cosmic Dancer (Orkidea Pure Progressive Remix)
08. Orkidea – One Man’s Dream (Pure Progressive Mix)
09. Paul Oakenfold featuring Little Nikki – Only Us (Orkidea Pure Progressive Remix)
10. Slusnik Luna – Valssi (Orkidea Pure Progressive Edit)
11. Orkidea – Higher State (Pure Progressive Edit)
12. Orkidea – That Feeling 
Mix 2 – The DJ
01. Macker – Lost in Space
02. Solarstone & JES – Like A Waterfall (Forerunners Remix)
03. Forerunners – Stream of Consciousness
04. Desert – Moods (Mr. A + SØNIN Remix)
05. Yotto – Tarantia
06. Solarstone & Orkidea – Slowmotion IV (F-Act Remix)
07. Elfsong – Crenshinibon (Dub Mix)
08. ZOYA – Bright Star
09. gardenstate – Bloom
10. Milla Lehto – World Outside
11. Paul Thomas & White-Akre – Vyote (Grum Remix)
12. Dreams & D.N.A. – Frequency Modulated Universe
13. Allende – Fate
14. Pink Bomb – Indica (Orkidea & Solarstone Pure Progressive Remix)

Bookmark the permalink.