Rating: 5.0/5. From 1 vote.
Please wait...

It’s hard to remember a time when DJing and traveling hasn’t gone hand-in-hand, or think of a time when it wouldn’t … And then 2020 happened. Suddenly, DJs from all musical quarters got a swift reminder of what it was, that many in our globalized world might’ve started to take as given. Amongst others, this refocused RAM’s mind on the wonder of it all. To such a degree in fact, that it’s became the inspiration for his second artist album.    

Over a spectrum of references, ranging from the super-subtle to the all-out overt, ‘Wanderlust’ (the follow-up to his 2015 debut, ‘Forever Love’) celebrates this aspect of DJ culture to its fullest degree. Each of ‘Wanderlust’s tracks has a unique, travelogue-like connection to countries and cities that RAM feels a particular affinity for. Some of those will jump out on first contact, while others lie more subtly in the context, awaiting the listener or clubber’s moment of realization.

Commenting on the upcoming album, RAM says “For me, this was both a personal journey through trance and a way of conveying my gratitude for the, now, almost thirty years of DJ-travelling through some of the world’s most amazing countries.” While the theme to RAM’s second artist album naturally runs start-through-finish over its ten tracks, the way he has chosen to imbue it ranges the spectrum.

Some focus specifically on cities, and the most apparent and titularly-pointed of fashions. ‘Buenos Aires Angels’ and ‘Medellin Madness’, for example need a little further in the way of clarification! Others though, like the NYC/US-champing ‘Where I Want To Be’ and the Sydney-celebrating The Power Of Love’ (featuring Sarah de Warren and Susana, respectively) do so more implicitly through their inner lyrics and artwork. ‘Echoes’ with Roxanne Emery, ‘What Matters’ featuring Cari, and the Natalie Gioia-sung ‘Forgive Me’ meanwhile have their heart and inspiration firmly rooted in Asia and the far east. Rising from a more southerly direction is the rapacious rip of ‘The Magic Of Mexico’, whose origin story couldn’t be writ larger, while more unstated is (the upcoming single) ‘Turn Back The Time’, which toots the horn for Canada. 

RAM’s new artist album “Wanderlust” will be out on March 17th 2023!
Get your copy here:
Tracklist “Wanderlust”:
01. RAM & Susana present Tales Of Life – The Power Of Love
02. RAM – Buenos Aires Angels
03. RAM & Clara Yates – Nothing Stopping Me (Album Mix)
04. RAM & Garderffi with Diana Leah – Turn Back The Time (RAM’s 3AM Album Mix)
05. RAM & Cari – What Matters
06. RAM – Medellin Madness
07. RAM & Roxanne Emery – Echoes
08. RAM – The Magic Of Mexico
09. RAM & Natalie Gioia – Forgive Me
10. RAM & Sarah de Warren – Where I Want To Be