No votes yet.
Please wait...

The only ever made one … and it was damn near perfect … Twenty years ago this month, Benno de Goeij & Piet Bervoets put out ‘Symsonic’, their one and only Rank 1 album. Following anthems like ‘Such Is Life’, ‘Awakening’ and their signature track ‘Airwave’, the album thrust the group into the big leagues, cementing their reputation as one of the Dutch trance greats.  

To mark the 20th anniversary of its release, across streaming, download and – for the first time – vinyl, Rank 1 are delighted to bring fans the definitive version of ‘Symsonic’. October 27 will bring the criterion edition which features all the original versions of the album’s time-tested classics. Digital formats meanwhile will also carry a disc’s worth of the best known and most celebrated remixes of their work, from artists like Cosmic Gate, Ferry Corsten, Push, ATB and Marco V.  

An album unlike any other, ‘Symsonic’s reputation grew and grew as fans became evermore aware that it would be the group’s one-and-only. Favoring the greater immediacy of the record-and-release dynamic, after ‘Symsonic’, Rank 1 dedicated themselves exclusively to shorter forms like singles, EPs and collaborations. The fans desire for Rank 1 albums though meant that ‘Symsonic’ became their lightning rod and was still being discovered a decade after its release.

The album also came to be recognized as the foundation block for the revered ‘Rank 1 sound’. During its production, Benno & Piet spearheaded the use of a number of groundbreaking production techniques, including the use of sidechain compression, which brought their music its renowned ‘stadium sound’. Drawing on their classical piano backgrounds, they also pioneered the use of symphonic and orchestral elements in trance music, something reflected in both the album’s title and title track.

As we said, ‘Symsonic’ was damn near perfect, but any which way you slice it though, twenty years is a long time in music! So, for the Deluxe edition of the album, Benno & Piet have returned to the album and remastered each of her tracks, giving them a 20-years-later update. Tunes like ‘Down From The Deep’ and ‘Equilibrium’ boom that much bigger, while ‘Cosmomatic’, ‘Airwave’, ‘Conspiracy’ and others soar that bit higher. The album’s cooler-heeled numbers like ‘T.T.C.’ and the Sunday Afternoon Rework of ‘Such Is Life’ meanwhile are that much sharper, richer and more defined.

No doubt ready to delight Rank 1 fans further are a disc’s worth of the most hallowed remixes of ‘Symsonic’s jewels. Included amongst them are ATB’s rework of ‘Airwave’ and Marco V’s rewiring of ‘Such Is Life’. Both the Cosmic Gate and Ferry Corsten rebuilds of ‘Awakening’ are included, as is the Push remix of ‘Breathing’ and Dumonde’s refit of ‘It’s Up To You’.

And if all that wasn’t quite enough, accompanying ‘Symsonic (Deluxe)’, October 27 also sees Rank 1 redux their legendary Live Trance Energy 2002 set. Offering the chance to recapture a true moment in the genre’s history, the mini album contains Piet & Benno’s 30-minute mainstage turn at the famed Jaarbeurs Exhibition Hall in Utrecht. Quickly becoming the stuff of trance legend, before a capacity audience, the pair performed ‘Cosmomatic’, ‘Airwave’, ‘Awakening’, ‘Such Is Life’ and others. Every kick-drum thump, goosebump-inducing harmony, rafter-raising synth, knob-twist, fader-flip (and resulting crowd cheer!) has been remastered, ready to be enjoyed all over again.

Rank 1 – Symsonic (Deluxe) is out on October 28th 2022!
Get your Copy here:
Tracklist “Rank 1 – Symsonic (Deluxe)”:

CD 1
01. Rank 1 – Symsonic      
02. Rank 1 – Cosmomatic 
03. Rank 1 – Airwave (Album Cut)
04. Rank 1 – Conspiracy    
05. Rank 1 – T.T.C.             
06. Rank 1 – Awakening (Radio Edit)
07. Rank 1 – Down from the Deep   
08. Rank 1 – Equilibrium    
09. Rank 1 – Such is Life (Sunday Afternoon Rework)
10. Rank 1 – Passage to the unknown            
11. Rank 1 – Still In My Mind            
12. Rank 1 – Airwave (Sunset Mix)
13. Rank 1 – Such is Life (Album Cut)
14. Rank 1 – The Citrus Juicer (Extended Version)
15. Rank 1 – Breathing (Airwave) (Radio Edit)
16. Rank 1 – Breathing (Airwave) (Breaks Dub Edit)
17. Rank 1 – Airwave (Rank 1 vs Dutch Force Radio Edit)
18. Rank 1 – It’s Up To You (Symsonic) (Radio Edit)

CD 2
01. Rank 1 – Airwave (Original Mix)
02. Rank 1 – Airwave (ATB Mix)
03. Rank 1 – Airwave (Rank 1 vs Dutch Force Mix)
04. Rank 1 – Such is Life (Original version)
05. Rank 1 – Such is Life (Marco V Remix)
06. Rank 1 – Such is Life (Deep Dub)
07. Rank 1 – Awakening (Original)
08. Rank 1 – Awakening (Ferry Corsten Remix)
09. Rank 1 – Awakening (Cosmic Gate Remix)
10. Rank 1 – Awakening (Benicio Remix)
11. Rank 1 – Breathing (Airwave) (Original Club Mix)
12. Rank 1 – Breathing (Airwave) (Push Vocal Mix)
13. Rank 1 – It’s Up To You (Symsonic) (Vocal Club Mix)
14. Rank 1 – It’s Up To You (Symsonic) (Dumonde Remix)
15. Rank 1 – Conspiracy (Extended Mix)
16. Rank 1 – Cosmomatic (Extended Mix)
17. Rank 1 – Down From The Deep (Extended Mix)

Rank 1 – Live Trance Energy 2002 [Remastered]:
01. Rank 1 – Symsonic      
02. Rank 1 – Cosmomatic 
03. Rank 1 – Black Snow  
04. Rank 1 – Passage to the unknown
05. Rank 1 – Airwave          
06. Rank 1 – Awakening
07. Rank 1 – Such is Life