Rating: 5.0/5. From 9 votes.
Please wait...

After a short interruption in 2018, Roger Shah is back with another edition of his mix-compilation series “Magic Island – Music For Balearic People”. For his nineth installment Roger has again created two mixes which will deliver you the perfect soundtrack for this summer. Expect exclusive tracks by the hands of Brian Laruso, Suncatcher, David Broaders, Andy Elliass and many more.
On the composition of his ninth compilation, Roger says: “In all the time I’ve been doing them, I’ve never spent as much time putting together a ‘Magic Island’ compilation as with this one. Besides the usual interaction with all the producers (one of the most enjoyable and fulfilling parts of the process), I also got re-inspired to use a lot of my aliases. This meant I ended up contributing even more of my own work. I hope everyone gets something like as much pleasure from listening to this album as I did whilst making it!”
As ever, each of “Magic Island”’s mixes echoes the respective vibes on two very distinct times of the day. With mix 1 Roger musically backdrops sun & sea, beach, lounge & bar. Hitting the recline button, the mix cruises out with the temperate latest from Clarks, Ihab Sameh and Marycee & Balearic Session. Around the midpoint High Noon At Salinas pop an umbrella in your drink, adding the intoxicating notes of “Siente El Sol” and the Terrace Mix of “Espalmador” for good measure. Series regulars Raul Pablo Sanchez & Brian Laruso bring cooler-yet essence with “Schattenspiel” & “Anything”, before Global Experience deliver the housier perspectives of “Sa Trinxa”. Roger’s own creations maintain the mix’s glide path as “The Sun Will Rise Again” from Sunlounger & Susie Ledge preludes the welcome return of San Antonio Harbour with “Neon Colors”.
Frontend of Mix 2 and Roger ushers some new Magic Island blood into the spotlight with Zoxy, Terry Gaters and Fredd Moz and Ingsha all making their series debuts. With the drums up, bass braced and synths rigged, Roger hits a collaboratory tract, dropping new clubbier in-studio teamings with Kristina Sky, Stoneface & Terminal, Rene Ablaze and others. Series vet David Broaders is hot on their heels with the floor-waxing “Heliosphere”, whilst with “Castaway” and “Azimuth”, Sergey Shabanov likewise pitches in with a pair of hand-raisers. Roger works in some similarly styled magic with the Aneym-sung “Whisper To Me” from Andy Elliass, along with the Polish producer’s Rolfiek collab “On The Way To Wonderland”. Rounding off 2019’s Magic Island excursion, you’ll find Eric Senn’s “Chase Your Dreams” and “Fantasy Land” from Yodis, while Corrie Theron sends Disc 2 on its way with “Smile”.
Roger Shah’s “Magic Island – Music For Balearic People Vol. 9” is out on June 21st 2019!
Get your Copy here:
Tracklist Magic Island – Music For Balearic People Vol. 9:
Mix 1

01. Clarks – Cayo Largo
02. Eddie Murray featuring Veronica Moran – Inception
03. Ihab Sameh – Silent Waves
04. Jukebox 80s – Ripped Knees
05. Marycee & Balearic Session – Ubud
06. Brian Laruso & Jamie Chambers – Tale Of The Lost
07. Adam Stark – Versa (Magic Island Deep Mix)
08. Sinan – Moments
09. High Noon At Salinas & Noah Shah – Siente El Sol
10. Raul Pablo Sanchez – Schattenspiel
11. Guided Gratitude – Waking Up
12. Global Experience – Sa Trinxa (Extended 5am Mix)
13. Sinan – Birds Of Paradise
14. Bob Memphis – Don’t Fade Away
15. Sunlounger & Susie Ledge – The Sun Will Rise Again
16. San Antonio Harbour – Neon Colors
17. Noah Shah – Huh
Mix 2
01. Ingsha – Apaya
02. Roger Shah & Genie O’Malley – Touch The Feelz
03. Roger Shah & George Jema – Patong Beach
04. Aaron Sim – Letting Go
05. David Broaders – Heliosphere
06. Andy Elliass & Aneym – Whisper To Me
07. Roger Shah with Stoneface & Terminal –
08. Roger Shah & Rene Ablaze – Natural Order
09. Roger Shah, Pierre Pienaar & Dirkie Coetzee – Epoch
10. Sergey Shabanov – Castaway
11. DJ Galaxie – Here I Am
12. Sergey Shabanov – Azimuth
13. Andy Elliass & Rolfiek – On The Way To Wonderland
14. Thorsten F. & Nicki – Research
15. Aldo Henrycho & Sothzanne String – Forever You
16. SILVELA – Offing (Uplifting Mix)
17. Eric Senn – Chase Your Dreams
18. Yodis – Fantasy Land
19. Corrie Theron – Smile